about us


In September, 1941, Dr. Vivian Anderson Leonard was asked by the president of Washington State University if he would accept the directorship of a Police Science Academic Program at Washington State. Dr. Leonard accepted the offer and became responsible for developing a four year curriculum which would lead to a Bachelor's Degree in Police Administration.

Upon his arrival at Washington State, Dr. Leonard began to realize how important it was that a Police Science Honorary be established. The purpose of this honorary would be to promote excellence in scholarship and performance. In January, 1942, Dr. Leonard met with seventeen Police Science majors at Washington State and Alpha Phi Sigma was established. Glenn Hill was elected as the first president and appointed a committee to draft the first Constitution and By-laws.

During its initial years Alpha Phi Sigma experienced only limited growth, but on March 24, 1976 in Dallas, Texas, the Executive Board of the Academy of Criminal Justice Sciences voted unanimously to designate Alpha Phi Sigma as the National Criminal Justice Honor Society. At this time, Alpha Phi Sigma had only fourteen chapters; however, since then, Alpha Phi Sigma has continued to grow and prosper at a very rapid rate and there are now over five hundred and fifty chapters.

Over the years the National Officers have been located at Universities across the country, such as, Washington State University, Midwestern State University, Eastern Kentucky University, Texas Woman's University, Fairmont State University, Marshall University, Tarleton State University,  Florida International University, Boise State University, and University of Houston, Downtown.




Academy of Criminal Justice Science Affiliation

At the 1976 meeting of the Academy of Criminal Justice Science in Dallas, Texas, the Academy recognized Alpha Phi Sigma as the Criminal Justice Honor Society. Since 1978, Alpha Phi Sigma has held its national conference in conjunction with the annual ACJS meeting. The Academy's continued support of Alpha Phi Sigma serves to enhance Alpha Phi Sigma's purpose - the recognition of scholarly achievement in the field of criminal justice. Alpha Phi Sigma has over 550 chapters.

Member of the Association of College Honor Societies

The Association of College Honor Societies was organized October 2, 1925, by a group of college and university teachers, administrators, and representatives of a few well-established honor societies. Its object was then and is now to consider problems of mutual interest such as those arising from the confusion prevailing on college campuses concerning the character, function, standards of membership, multiplicity, and undesirable duplication of honor societies; to recommend action leading to appropriate classification or elimination; and to promote the highest interest of honor societies. Alpha Phi Sigma  was granted membership by the Association of College Honor Societies in 1980.


BYLAWS (pdf)


National Board

National Council


 Tamara Wilkins, Ph.D.   

Regina Shearn, Ph.D.

Andrew Giacomazzi, Ph.D.

Deanna Shields, Ph.D.

Adriana C. Jansen, M.S.

National Student Officers


President Nicholas Stuart

Missouri State University

Vice President Keiro Branch

N. Carolina Central University 

Secretary Lacey Darnell

Missouri State University

Treasurer Sydney Debrick 

Missouri State University

National Advisors


Lorna Grant, Ph.D.

North Carolina Central University

Ivy Yarckow-Brown, M.S.

Missouri State University 

Andrea Joseph, J.D. 

New Mexico State University, 

Las Cruces 

Kristina Lopez, Ph.D.

​University of North Florida


Executive Director


Regina B. Shearn, Ph.D


Assistant Director


Adriana C. Jansen, M.S.


Office Manager




V. Hugo Chung

Membership & Merchandise

Dawn Durney

Social Media


Karla DeLaTorre

Headquarters Volunteer


Joan E. Burton

Headquarters Volunteer


Grover C. Alexander III